sábado, septiembre 24, 2022
InicioTechnologyPusha T Creates a Modern Coke Rap Classic

Pusha T Creates a Modern Coke Rap Classic

Expectations were high It’s almost dryPusha T’s fourth solo album. After all, the president of GOOD Music spent four years creating the sequel to the 2018 masterpiece, daytona, which was produced entirely by Kanye West. Push enlists returning West and frequent collaborator Pharrell Williams (who helped put Clipse, a band made up of Pusha T and his brother Malice, on the map) to create six tracks for each of the 12-track album. It’s an incredibly promising pairing, with both producers trying to outdo their contemporary greats, and one of the best lyricists of this generation rapping over their incredible beats.

5 standout tracks

The album’s opening track «Brambleton», produced by Pharrell, sets the mood perfectly as it shows that King Push’s lyricism is still at an all-time high. While the personal drama between ex-manager and artist isn’t usually the most interesting track, the way Pusha T details how a friendship went awry is vivid. “Had a million answers, had no idea/why Michael kissed Fredo in godfather 2,” push raps of his former manager giving interviews exposing him to the media. There is never a sigh or a syllable in it. It’s almost dry and the fans saw an artist who is on another level and is really just now entering his prime as an artist.

The first track produced by Ye is the third song on the album, «Dreamin Of The Past», which sounds like vintage Kanye as he samples Donny Hathaway’s sensational cover of John Lennon’s «Jealous Guy». Pusha T shows incredible poise here and demonstrates his growth not only in his own skin, but also as an artist. No longer feeling like he’s not being respected as much as he should be, Push exudes confidence, spitting lines like, «You’re screaming,» «Top Five,» I can only see myself. The reward shows how you bitches can rob me. West also has a short verse at the end of the track, which has a rather entertaining line about how he almost bought a mansion from The Prince of Beverly Hills but he did not like the way the kitchen was set up.

«Neck & Wrist» is the album’s strongest boastful rap track, featuring Push and Jay-Z reciting a verse discussing their entry into the cocaine market and their current life of luxury. However, the most interesting aspect is that Jay reflects on the death of The Notorious BIG and if it affected his success, as critics doubt he would have become the king of New York rap otherwise. “If BIG survived, you would all get The Commission,” Jay reads, referring to the planned supergroup with both of them. “Hov will always be Hov. It was the will of the universe because Allah said so, and now I am here.” Given his wordplay throughout the verse and his illustrious career, it’s hard to disagree.

‘Rock and Roll’ is bringing Kids See Ghosts duo Kanye and Kid Cudi to what could be their last collaboration due to the pair’s current split. While bittersweet at the moment, it’s a great track that is enhanced by Kadi’s catchy chorus. Push also makes a great pun when it links Super Mario Bros. through his sale of cocaine: “I get these coins when I break a brick. / Jump every level, Super Mario exists.» Ye’s feature is also much stronger than his appearance on the earlier album. In a raspy voice, Kanye addresses his current mental state. “Pushing me over the edge, I don’t know if I’m falling or flying,” says Ye. “How many nights do I pray, how many times? / Whatever we say, God will decide, God will decide.”

At the end of «I Pray For You» Pusha T reunites with his brother Malice and Labrinth sings a beautiful intro, bridge and outro that completes the self-produced track with West. It’s also an incredible gesture since Push doesn’t have the final say. It’s almost dry, instead allowing Malice to close it with an incredible verse, perhaps the best on the entire album. “X told you it’s hot in hell, I told you «Repent,» reads Malice, referring to the late DMX and his classic debut album. It’s dark and hell is hot. «Faith never wavered as I walked along the fence.» Throughout the verse, Malice shows how important his Christianity and changed life are to him, but he’s also not afraid to get a little darker. As one of his last bars fabulously demonstrates: “I greet you with a love of God that does not make us friends. / I could whisper in his ear, «Bury them all.»

Small notes:

  • The lead single «Diet Coke» was great when it was released in February, and it fits even better here because of the consistency.
  • There is a funny Joker motif as Push refers to him in «Rock and Roll» saying «I’m a trap, I’m a fixer, I’m a broker, I’m a Joker/Arthur Fleck is in the deck when he’s pissed, triple six. It also has a Joker laugh in the background of many of Pharrell’s tracks. As a self-proclaimed villain in the rap game, adapting some of the Joker’s mannerisms is a fun way to prank him without detracting from the real music.
  • «Hear Me Clearly», which was also featured on the recent Nigo album. I know NO!, seems like a leftover track from the Push and Pharrell sessions handed over to the Japanese fashion icon, and its inclusion here makes it the weakest track of all. That doesn’t even mean it’s bad, it’s still a very good song with a few lever lines, but it’s not the best collaboration between artists and shouldn’t have been included on two albums. It’s far from «Slow Jamz» appearing on both Kanye channels. College Dropout and Twist Kamikaze because no one is in a hurry to put on repeat.
  • It’s great to see that Push is working with the younger generation and it creates an incredibly catchy tune in «Scrape It Off». Both Lil Uzi Vert and Don Tolliver bring their top-notch acting here, and this mix of generations works great.
  • If you have 54 minutes of free time, I highly recommend listening to Professor Sky’s book. breakdown of the album and its themes.

CHECK: 9/10

As explained in ComingSoon’s Review Policy, 9 points equals «Excellent». Entertainment that reaches this level is at the top of its class. The gold standard that every creator aspires to.

Lover of movies and series. rather. lover to the cinema in generating. I hope you like my blog.


Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí

Most Popular

Recent Comments